• what is the new abortion ban law in n.c.?

    The new law reduces the time allowed for an abortion from 20 weeks to 12 weeks and requires an in-person counseling appointment at least three days/ 72 hours prior to the abortion procedure. A follow-up appointment is required for medication abortion patients 7 to 14 days after the abortion. 

  • Are there any reasons i will be allowed an abortion after 12 weeks in n.c.?


    • legal through 20 weeks in cases of rape or incest
    • Legal through 24 weeks if physicians detect a life-limiting anomaly. 
    • Thereafter, abortion is legal only in cases of a medical emergency.

  • What if i am a minor? Can I get an abortion in n.c. without parental consent?


    If you’re under the age of 18, you will need permission from a parent or guardian to get an abortion.

    If getting the permission of a parent or legal guardian is not an option for you, you can seek a judicial waiver (also known as a “judicial bypass”) in many states.

  • i don't know how far along i am. Can i get an abortion?

    That's ok! While Smoky Mountain Pregnancy Care Center does not provide abortions or referrals for abortion, we do offer you a free limited obstetric ultrasound. After your free pregnancy test and free consultation with a nurse, she will then decide if you are eligible for the ultrasound based on your last menstrual cycle.  We will be able to determine three things for you during your ultrasound; the gestational age, if the pregnancy is viable and inside the uterus and not ectopic, and the fetal heart rate. Your nurse will answer any questions you have concerning abortion, adoption, parenting, and more. It is important to understand all of your options and that is exactly what we can do for you. Request an appointment hERE

  • who may perform abortions?

    In North Carolina, only a licensed M.D., a doctor or physician, may perform an abortion in a hospital or clinic that has a license to perform abortions. This is to ensure that the abortion is as safe as possible for the pregnant woman and to ensure that medical facilities are immediately available if the abortion puts the pregnant woman in danger.

  • WHAT ARE THE  Illegal Abortion Penalties

    An unlawful abortion is a Class H felony in North Carolina, and is punishable by up to ten years in prison. If the judge determines that the unlawful abortion is a Class I felony, the punishment is five years in prison at most. Failing to obtain parental consent is a Class 1 misdemeanor.